Proud and cringed

Six days ago was the proudest day of my life. I was so proud of my students and a little part of me was even proud of myself. How could I create this? Is this really a big deal? It wasn’t really that hard… Yes, I created this and made it happen. Yes, it’s a big deal. Yes, it was hard to make your own dance show. But dang, so worth it and I enjoyed (almost) every second of the process.

If you have followed my Swedish blog, then you have some background of what I’m doing and what I’m up to. I run my own dance school/organisation, Stockholm Dance Team and they had a Christmas Show. …Is that btw what you call it? It was a Show at a theatre where all family and friends could come watch and it is pretty much Christmas.. So it should be called a Christmas Show..? Anyway you know what I mean.

There was a lot of preparation to make this happen. But it’s absolutely doable if you know what you are doing. Duh.. I’m so happy that it was such a hysterical success and that my girls really slayed it on stage. I smiled through the whole thing. Since we only have two Teams at the moment it was kind of hard to make the program have a nice flow through the whole thing with all the change of clothes, solos and group choreographies. That meant I was going to pick up the mic and talk to the audience to kill the time in some charming flowy way. My goodness, what a cringe. I couldn’t have been the only one noticing how much this wasn’t my thing. But I liked having that mic in my hand. Kind of like… Instead of being behind the artist, I am the artist. Everyone can hear me. You’ll see when I’m done with the video. I haven’t started with it yet since I need to emotionally prepare myself to hear my awful attempt to be icecube cool in the speakers.

I’ll probably talk more about the show. But this post would be way too long if I took it all at once.

img_20161216_155053
Before the show. Thank goodness I wasn’t alone with all those buttons.
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
After the show I couldn’t resist running up on stage and giving my dancers a big hug.

 

Leave a Reply

